PUTNAM BOARD OF EDUCATION

Special Meeting May 31, 2022 Secretary's Report

The Putnam Board of Education met in special session on May 31, 2022 at 7:00 PM in the Joseph V. Pempek Memorial Conference room.

Attendance: Tabetha Babcock, Kevin Davis (9:12 PM), Jamie Heath, Laure LaBonte,

Michael Morrill, Chad Neal, James Purdon (7:04 PM), Christopher Steinbrick (7:26 PM),

and Jill Zangerl

Others: Nancy Cole, School Business Administrator; Daniel P. Sullivan, III, Superintendent;

Barney Seney, Mayor, Town of Putnam; and Chris Ferace, Chief of Police, Town of

Putnam

The meeting began at 7:00 PM.

1. BUSINESS

a. Assignment of School Safety Officers provided by the Putnam Police to the Putnam Public Schools

The proposal of School Safety Officers provided by the Putnam Police to the Putnam Public Schools was presented by Superintendent Sullivan. The proposal was discussed between the Board of Education, Superintendent Sullivan, Mayor Seney, and Chief Ferace. James Purdon made a motion to approve the School Resource Officer plan as presented by the town. The motion was seconded by Christopher Steinbrick. James Purdon amended the motion to approve the assignment of School Safety Officers provided by the Putnam Police to the Putnam Public Schools. The motion was seconded by Christopher Steinbrick and passed unanimously.

b. Executive Session (Personnel Matter)

Christopher Steinbrick made a motion to go into Executive Session at 8:03 PM. The motion was seconded by Laure LaBonte and passed unanimously. Superintendent Sullivan, Mayor Seney, and Chief Ferace were invited to attend. Mayor Seney and Chief Ferace left Executive Session at 8:40 PM.

James Purdon made a motion to leave Executive Session at 9:18 PM. The motion was seconded by Christopher Steinbrick and passed unanimously.

James Purdon made a motion to extend Superintendent Sullivan's contract for a third year. The motion was seconded by Christopher Steinbrick. Kevin Davis, Laure LaBonte, Chad Neal, James Purdon, Christopher Steinbrick and Jill Zangerl voted Aye. Michael Morrill voted Nay. Tabetha Babcock and Jamie Heath abstained. The motion passed.

2. ADJOURNMENT

James Purdon made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Christopher Steinbrick and passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 9:20 PM.

Respectfully submitted,